Home

6. Life has no meaning. Each of us has meaning and we bring it to life. It is a waste to be asking the question when you are the answer.

– Joseph Campbell

vivir

Speaking of wonderful quotes, I got this one from a blogger who wants to spread peace, and love and social justice through poetry. This blog is full of useful information on pretty much everything. I like the fact that along with the authors he quotes, poet4justice includes a ton of personal information on the people he quotes. He sees authors as human beings!! How refreshing is that?

Hey poet, what about the work of Victor Jara?

7.“Please write this down…

Nothing good will come from asking questions while you are naked.

Now, underline it and tape it to your forehead.”

This is very much food for thought. Why would you be naked and asking questions? Either you’re at the doctor’s, you’re in a relationship, or you’re in Germany.

jiggly

In any case, I think it’s a sound piece of advice not to ask questions that would potentially bring you down when you’ve completely opened up.

This is a hilarious, clever, profound blog. If this woman had a TV show, I’d watch it.

8.“Rule # 1 – The word to word ratio: Never give more than you’re getting. Ever. The less you say – the better. People are led by curiosity, it’s the fuel for evolution, and nothing is sexier than the unanswered question.”

I tend to talk too much, so this advice is golden.

ner

The blog goes everywhere, is often funny, and the comments on the site led me to discover the true meaning of “Gangam Style.”

9.“We are all childrens’ writers.”

Don’t forget how people love a story.

writewar

I have to admit it. I love to write. It’s what I want to do with my whole life.

I used to write constantly in Junior High and High School. I have a ton of manuscripts chronicling the fantasies of five decades of life. I carry a pen and blank paper no matter where I go.

I have an agent. I have published two books, one in Spanish and one in English.

In 1990, I wrote what I thought was my masterpiece. I have tried to peddle the book ever since. It must have been rejected at least forty times so far.

I don’t know. I think it’s good. It’s the reason I went to Haiti. I think it’s actually great. It’s a kids’ book.

One of the editors who rejected it asked to read the whole thing and said, “If I owned a publishing company, I’d publish this. But it just isn’t marketable.”

No, it isn’t.

SO…

Maybe this website is for me. Perhaps Joe can help me finally see Mask of The Warrior in the hands of an editor. Yep, that’s my dream, to have my book professionally edited. Isn’t that three kinds of crazy? I just think the process of working with an editor is so gratifying.

So, I’m going to use the resources he has to offer.

Mask of the Warrior will see the light of day and become a movie.

If I begin to despair that I will never publish any work of fiction, I will summon that child in me that still dreams about telling cool stories to his friends. Thanks, Joe.

10. everything is like a cartoon on a saturday

This just made me nostalgic. In my own childhood, I watched the Shazaam/Isis hour, and when I was too old for Saturday Morning, along came kids, and we watched Pepper Ann, and Doug, and Batman and BatmanBeyond and Cubix. Now I don’t even know if there are Saturday Morning cartoons. 

dgaf

I need grandkids.

But really, it”s true. There’s no problem that can’t be solved and forgotten in half an hour with breaks for buying toys and happy meals.

And lots, and lots and lots of sugar.

By the way, I appreciate the original art and music compositions.

4 thoughts on “Your quotes that called to me #6-10

Leave a Reply

